Let me apologize in advance…..

I want to start by saying sorry, some of you will be offended, but it happens. You don’t have to continue to read my blog if you are.

Now before I begin my little rant, I want to let you all know that I love my town (Mena) and I freaking love my state!!!!! I consider it the most beautiful, friendly, amazing place I’ve ever been and I am sad that for an unknown amount of time that I am leaving it. BUT I do not in any way thing that it is okay to write ignorant things like this on the side of your house. In case you can’t read it, it says, “Katrina, Arkansas takes care of its own.”

bighouse

Yes Katrina, (a natural disaster that apparently the people of Louisiana and Mississippi had control over) just like the tornado that Mena had control over. TAKE THAT!

I’m sorry that I think it’s horrible to compare natural (even unnatural) disasters that kill 3 or hundreds. Am I proud that I come from a community/state that will help themselves and their neighbor. YES!!!!!!!!!! MORE THAN YOU PROBABLY KNOW. Sorry I know some of you think this sign is great, but I can’t help but think of the hundreds of people who lost or will lose their life because of a natural disaster. I don’t think that this particular sign makes my state/community look as great as it truly is. In my mind it makes it look ignorant. Again, sorry I just couldn’t hold it in any longer. So my apologies if you don’t like my opinion, but it’s just that yours MINE, I in no way expect you to feel the same way. One of the best blogs I read is by Krissi, a fellow Mena gal, and guess what we totally don’t see eye to eye on all issues (I know this from some of her posts) BUT she’s one great person. WHY? Because she’s honest and opinionated and I can respect someone like that.

So I hope you all have a wonderful day and please keep the community of Mena and it’s people in your prayers, they have a lot to rebuild. And come back if you’re not too offended and check out “Shout Out Wednesday”.

3 Responses to “Let me apologize in advance…..”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I don’t really get that either. Louisiana tried their best to take care of their own too. I’m not sure what their point is. They don’t want help from the government? Or they are mad at the government? I dunno…

  2. Jennifer Holland Says:

    Yeah, I didn’t get that either….But I agree with you Jonnie – it doesn’t make our town look good!

  3. Krissi Says:

    I am so glad that even though we don’t see eye to eye on all of our opinions we can still be blog buddies!!

Leave a Reply

